I’m not sure if there’s a chaffinch singing

… but I am in England and it is April. It’s very sunny, and not as hot as Paris was – I just took Midge for a walk, wearing a hoodie, and wasn’t too warm. I hope it stays this way, maybe with a couple of rain showers to avoid a drought.

The trip home was uneventful, apart from a brief panic in Birmingham when I discovered my direct train had been cancelled. They put all of us onto an earlier to train to Wolverhampton, though, and we picked up the train from there. There wasn’t even a problem about the fact that I’d been booked onto a 5am train and was travelling at 4pm… I don’t think the conductor even noticed that my ticket was dated the 18th (due to the overnight train out of London).

It was really nice to spend the day in Birmingham. I’d reached the hostel at 2am and rolled into my bed in my clothes, but when I woke up the next morning I noticed that it was a very nice room, much nicer that the Youth Hostels I’ve stayed in. If you need somewhere cheap to sleep in Birmingham I’d recommend Birmingham Central Backpackers. They obligingly stored my luggage for the day while I wandered round the city in the sunshine and saw Source Code at Cineworld. It was so great to be back in a country where I knew intuitively which way the traffic was coming (although I admit I had to check both ways in case I’d got it wrong), could understand overheard conversations, and where people wear bright colours instead of shades of black!

This morning has been quite productive: I’ve made a doctors appointment, rung the hospital to chivvy along the form-filling process, bought a rice cooker, done the morning’s washing up, put away my clean laundry, and taken the dog for a walk. Now it’s quarter past one and I’m not exactly sure what to do with my day.

Leave a Reply

