Home Alone Again

I quite like being alone in the house for a few days. This week, mum and John have gone to the Lake District so I’ve been taking care of the house and animals since Friday. I haven’t been alone all that time though, because Anna has been here to visit! She arrived Saturday afternoon and left about an hour and a half ago, and we have had fun 🙂 Even the massive flood I managed to cause in the porch (by balancing a bowl of muddy water on a small shelf and then bumping into it) was quite fun. Not sure either of us enjoyed the dismembered rodents the cats kept presenting us with, though.

Today is a miserable grey day, which is at least consistent with the other days this week. I had to eventually give up hoping there would be a sunny day when I could dry my laundry, so the house is filled with damp clothes that really need to hurry up and dry so that I can pack them.

I can’t quite believe that term starts in two weeks. It’s been such a long time since I was properly at uni. Although I was there for a few weeks last year, it doesn’t really feel like it – my memories are quite fuzzy and I didn’t get a lot of work done. It feels as though I’m going back after nearly 18 months away and it’s quite scary.

I’m a bit cross, though. I have to be in Cambridge on the 24th for a choir thing, and helpfully I’ll be given a room in Selwyn for the night. The mother of the 5 year old I might be tutoring wanted to meet me at lunchtime on the 24th, so in order to get there in time I’m going down by coach on the 23rd and very helpfully I’ve been given another night in Selwyn.

Except that now I am not meeting them on the 24th, for several complicated reasons. I think partly she feels she is being helpful as she said “to save you a trip, let’s meet on the 30th instead”. But of course this isn’t helpful at all! I’m going down to Cambridge early in order to meet her, and now I am going for no reason at all. Grr.

At least I’ll be able to wander round and see what changes have been made to my lovely city, and maybe meet up with friends who are around. But it does mean I won’t see my mum again unless she comes to visit, and now there’s no reason at all why that has to be the case.

Anyway! I have grumbled about this a lot to several people, so I will move onto more cheery subjects. I’ve been working quite a lot lately on the writing group I run, a sort of support group for people talking part in NaNoWriMo. In previous years it has been a lot of work during November, which isn’t perfect when I’m at university! So I’ve been pre-writing inspirational emails, organising things that need to be organised and cunningly delegating things in a way that doesn’t seem like delegation at all. It’s one of the things I’m most proud of, and oddly it’s also something that very few people know I do. I think that’s the thing about the internet – I don’t feel like people will always take it seriously so I don’t mention it on CVs, but it probably demonstrates my organisation, leadership, writing skills and so forth better than almost anything else.

Other than that, I’ve not got much on at the moment. Just enjoying the last few days before it all kicks off. Please cross your fingers that this works out. If it goes wrong again this year, I’ll have to rethink my whole life. Gulp.

Leave a Reply

