Into a Routine

I’ve been living in this room for two weeks now, and although it isn’t quite sorted (there are still a couple of boxes to unpack – one of CDs, one of shoes, and a couple of pictures to hang when I find a way to grow four feet taller) it feels like home. I’m also into the swing of my routine and slowly sorting out the big issues which inevitably crop up at the start of a new year.

The list now looks a bit like this:

  1. Find and install fridge – located and filled with food!
  2. Find and install freezer – located and absolutely jammed with pre-prepared meals
  3. Acquire coat – a new coat has been bought as a very early Christmas present, I’m collecting it tomorrow 🙂
  4. Find bike key – the key has been given up for dead, and the lock was cut off.
  5. Berate Student Finance – whilst I still haven’t received half my loan or any grants, they have finally admitted they had forgotten me, and put me in a new pile. Hopefully next week I will have some money…
  6. Unpack boxes – the aforementioned shoes and CDs are still around. There are several random piles of clutter which also need addressing

As to-do lists go, it isn’t a bad one. My new tactic for things like unpacking and tidying, which is to put on an audiobook while I work, is pretty effective when I’m not too exhausted to move. Like I am tonight.

I’m particularly tired today because I had a supervision at 5 which ran over by half an hour, and then I had to cycle like mad across town to get to my tutoring class (half an hour late – but I had warned them this might happen). We in turn ran over a little as we were enjoying the Just a Minute board game we were playing, and then I had to figure out an alternative lesson time to avoid a repeat of today’s mad dash. Cycling home in the freezing cold darkness with no coat and no functional bike light (must add that to the list: “buy new bike light”) was not my idea of fun.

Then I got home to what I usually consider my overheated room, and was very glad I had defrosted a box of bolognese sauce that morning. Half an hour later I was sitting down to a steaming plate of spaghetti bolognese and a mug of hot chocolate, and now I am debating whether bed or iPlayer have greater appeal.

Tomorrow will be a more interesting day; I’m attending a talk about whether it is possible to have it all as a woman: can you be a mother with a successful career and an active social life? Then there is a buffet lunch followed by a talk about the ethics of egg preservation and fertility treatment. It’s possibly an odd way to spend a Saturday as a childless student, but it sounds fascinating. On Sunday Anna is coming for afternoon tea and next weekend KT is coming to stay – so far I have had a visit from a graduated friend every weekend! I hope this trend keeps up.

4 thoughts on “Into a Routine

  1. Lots of productive busy-ness happening in your life! I hope you enjoy the settling-in. It’s nice to make the space your own.

    Your plans for Saturday might sound funny for a childless student, but if you’re hoping to have children one day, better to start thinking through how you want to manage it *before* you’re buried in the hurly-burly of actually raising them! Not that your ideas mightn’t change when you’re experiencing the reality, but you’ll have some of your guiding principles worked out. Good for you!

    • Thanks! I was one of four undergrads at the event – one who is already a mother. Two of us were sitting with her and horrified by being told that our fertility will plummet when we hit thirty. I’ve always wanted to have children early… now I’m even more certain of it! If there’s no man around in the next five years I’ll simply have to adopt on my own 😉

      • At thirty?!? Then most of my clients shouldn’t be parents! Lots and LOTS of women have babies in their early thirties. Late thirties and beyond is harder; fertility definitely plunges then, and the incidence of problems increases, but before 30? Seems a bit suspect to me.

      • She was showing us a graph of how drastically fertility begins to drop at that age, but it doesn’t really hit close to zero until nearly fifty. It was alarming though!

Leave a Reply

