I think my new town is full of hippies

I move into my new flat for real properly 100% on Saturday. This time, I won’t be dropping by for a few days with a carry-bag of clothes, I’ll be living there for the indefinite future. I’m in the process of changing my official address with my banks, the DVLA, various online shops, and all kinds of other places I keep suddenly remembering. This is it, folks. This is for real!

Because I’m a little anxious that I’ll be lonely for the next six weeks, if not beyond that, I’ve been making plans to keep myself busy. I’ve already got some regular commitments lined up – church on Sunday (twice, if I am really stuck for things to do), running group on Mondays and Thursdays. Today I emailed my tutoring student to arrange restarting his lessons, which will have the additional advantage of providing a steady income until my student funding is sorted out.

I also arranged to meet the family who will hopefully become my new babysitting clients (and, incidentally, emailed my old babysitting clients to see if they’re free for me to pop round and say hello/goodbye before I leave for good), which I’m looking forward to. Their baby is at one of my favourite ages and their requirements seem to fit quite nicely around my timetable, at least until placements start.

If you read my food blog, you’ll know that I’ve also booked myself onto two cookery classes over the next month. They’re based at a cookery school/community store/bakery a few minutes’ walk from my flat, and I’m so excited about it. I’m not making any decisions yet, but in the back of my mind is the possibility that I might volunteer at the community store a little. Quite by chance while browsing their website I discovered that there’s a community market next week so I’ll be heading over to that. It should be a nice way to meet some new people, and by the look of things there will be lots of delicious food on sale!

My optimistic hope is that the community store will sell things like rice, pasta, lentils and other dry goods at an equivalent or cheaper price than the supermarket a half-hour’s walk away, and that the place I’ve scoped out as a possible source of freely-delivered fruit and vegetable boxes will be of good enough quality to be worth a slightly higher price. I intend to start making my own bread if possible, but it’s also nice to know that I can buy totally natural, no-preservatives, freshly-made bread nearby and the prices don’t look too bad.

As soon as I’m back I need to cycle out to the university administrative offices and hand in the paperwork for my Disclosure and Barring Services check – what used to be known as a CRB. I didn’t want to post it while I was away, because I had visions of my important documents being returned to my flat and trampled into oblivion as it lay uncollected on the doormat for a month, but now I’m concerned that if I don’t hurry up and sort it out, I won’t have clearance by the time I start my hospital placements.

Another minor problem that might turn out to be fairly major is that my driving licence is still in my mum’s address. I hadn’t even thought of that – I can’t get my head around the fact that I now have my own official address which will be accepted as a proper address by everyone. After four years of being constantly told “we can’t accept university accommodation addresses” and wanting to cry with frustration as my post was pointlessly sent to Shropshire and forwarded on, it’s hard to adjust. I did try to update my driving licence address last week but true to form, the government department website sent me round and round the houses before crashing and informing there was “an error”. Helpful.

Anyway, aside from the bureaucratic issues involved in moving house, I am looking forward to my new life. There are so many parks, all of which seem to have regular community days and parties. I was disappointed to discover that the nearest park’s free community festival clashed with my summer job, but there’s a folk festival later in the summer which is not too far away, and various family fun days and farmers’ markets to attend. I shall put on my best tie-dye skirt and Doc Marten boots and go along to mingle with my new neighbours (and maybe buy some quinoa and weird root vegetables I can’t name).

2 thoughts on “I think my new town is full of hippies

  1. Exciting times! I doubt you’ll be bored/lonely with all you’ve got planned. You’re certainly doing a much better job exploring your new city and interacting with the community than I would have done.
    I wonder if you’ll be able to do everything you’d like to after you start uni, Midwifery seems like quite a demanding course…
    Hope you get all the bureaucratic stuff sorted soon so that you can enjoy the rest of your summer. I’m curious to see the food experiments in August and wouldn’t mind if you shared some of the knowledge gained from the cookery classes with us. 🙂

    • You’re right, I’m a bit concerned I won’t have a lot of time when I start as well – but at least I can do a lot before freshers’ week. Taking on too much is something I do a lot! I’ll certainly share what I learn in the cooking classes, probably over on my food blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

